PDA

View Full Version : please help?

drawingspirits
01-08-2003, 09:23 PM
hello folks..I am pretty new here,tried a couple of times to introduce myself but don't know if it ever made to the board..I have been addicted here for quite awhile,and read most new forums..I've even gotten a few people joined up here.one even became a guide..sigh...here is my problem, I don't know what is 'wrong' with me these days, I just started drawing one day last january and never stopped,(an ad at our local art gallery for survivors of sexual abuse to submit artwork started all this, I wondered what my experiences might look like so I drew some stuff)..since then I have drawn and painted and learned and so on..I have a site with my stuff (some of it ..) my link is on profile, people have said kind things about it all. as I said something is wrong now. I come here ,I see so much talent, newcomers say "this is the first thing i ever did." and I am blown away..it seems I am very critical of every thing I do now..I think the worst of it..they've been like my babies til now,always proud of my efforts, but not now and it breaks my heart,I think I am not good enough to waste the paint...what has happened to me? Is this common? what do I do to stop it?It is really bothering me.

madster
01-08-2003, 09:46 PM
Hello, drawingspirits!

I read once that most people are more afraid of success than of failure.

My Most Beloved has a phrase: "Work it through, get over yourself, and move on..."

Perhaps you are letting self-doubt and insecurity (which is NOT a result of your past!) hinder you.

What's done is done. What you've made, you've made. Why try to go back and doubt the past?

Move on!
If nothing else, stop looking back, and focus on the wide open path ahead of you!!!!

If your past works "suck," so be it. Why should that influence where you are NOW????

Move onwards, and upwards....the universe awaits.

With Love and Best wishes,
Madeline

Rose Queen
01-08-2003, 10:41 PM