PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone assist me with a first-buy, Bob-Ross style?

MrBThatsMe
11-30-2010, 08:28 PM
I've been watching Bob Ross episodes before bed for ages now, as it helps me relax and fall asleep. With christmas coming up, the only thing that popped into my head when I was asked if there was anything I'd like was 'Bob Ross painting kit', as it's been something i've fancied giving a try for a while now but being a poor student I haven't had the funds.

After doing a bit of research, I've found that the Bob Ross official sets seem over-priced, likely due to the brand name. After asking around on Yahoo answers, I've had mixed results, so I thought I'd try a dedicated painting website.

Basiclaly, I need a set of oil paints (I've kinda chosen Winsor & Newton, as they are the most commonly appreciated brand according to a survey I seen), brushes/tools, and an easel.

1. I was set on buying a standard set of W&N Artists or 'Student' oil colours, but have since been told that Bob Ross used water based or water mixed oil colours (can't remember the specific term used). Is this true, and is it key to success when painting in his style, or will any of the W&N oil paints be ok?

2. I need an alternative to liquid white for the base coat, although I could just buy a tin of the Bob Ross branded stuff, but if there is equally good paint out there that is the same for a lower price, I'd prefer that option.

3. For an easel, is there any specific type of easel that I need when working with pre-stretched canvases or do they generally all have appropriate fixings to hold it in place?

Finally, if anyone is familiar with the Bob Ross painting methods and/or has experience in doing so, is there anything else you think is important to remember when buying everything?

I know his methods are frowned upon by some, but he's the reason I've found the inspiration to start painting so I definitely want to experiment with it :)

Thanks, Colin!

NancyMP
11-30-2010, 08:59 PM