PDA

View Full Version : portrait technique question

decoratorgirl
12-30-2002, 04:02 PM
Being so new to drawing/pastels/art- I am curious to know more specifics about the use of pastels and color in portraits. From much reading, observing, and discussion on Wet Canvas, am I correct in concluding that many people, when beginning a portrait, lay in lots of differennt colors first like blues/purples for shadows, yellows for some areas, etc. to give more depth and interest and THEN add flesh tones on top of all the underlying colors??? Do some just simply place the flesh tones first and then add shadows in browns, umbers and skip all the "colors?" Help!!! I am really wanting to hear some SPECIFIC techniques to try for portraits that some of you use.
Thanks,
Leslie

decoratorgirl
12-30-2002, 04:09 PM
ALSO, do you move from hard, medium, to softer pastels or do you just use soft for the entire portrait or pic?

meowmeow
12-30-2002, 05:07 PM
I'm no expert but I believe generally people lay in the darker tones with pastels first. I know I have been doing that. When you get to the lighter, "flesh" tones on the upper layers they will have much more depth.
That doesn't mean I have never put a darker color on top but I try to avoid doing that.
I also usually work from hard to soft but again it is not absolute. I know that some people work in all one type of pastel though. That is really personal preference.
I think.
I hope that helps...and I am sure you will get lots of other comments here to help you.

Sandy

Mo.
12-30-2002, 06:51 PM
Hi Leslie,

Skin tones vary from person to person, there really is no set of standard colours so to speak, also lighting effects surroundings and clothing etc., will alter the colours of the skin too.