PDA

View Full Version : Tiger - 1st pastel attempt

online art
12-28-2002, 08:25 AM
Well I have had a go at pastels for the first time and I must admit I find them really difficult to use - they seem much harder to use than my favorite medium oils.

I should have made my first attempts just practice ones, but as usual my practice pieces turn into full works.

There are a few things I am almost happy with on the tiger (eyes) and lots that I really hate, but I guess things can only get better.

I started using pastels as I thought that they would be a great medium to take out in the field for sketches and perhaps this is exactly how I should use them and leave the real pastels to the experts like Gaka and Tom. lol

I doubt that I will ever finish this one, so I'll crack on with my owl again.

Luvy
12-28-2002, 11:47 AM
Wow I'd be impressed if I could do that well with pastels *S* I've been using them for the past 6 months or so. I love them

Dark_Shades
12-28-2002, 12:28 PM
Great minds think alike :) .... Ive just done a tiger too :D ..... this is looking good Jason

Caron
12-28-2002, 12:30 PM
Jason, your braver then me, I havent even pulled mine out of the box yet...lol Is this being done with a combination of the two or are you focusing on one or the other? I would be interested to know...Have you used the shapers in this? It looks like you may have in places...
I too like the look of the eyes and also the pink of his nose but my favourite part is the ear. You are achieving depth there. Keep drudging along and I know it will look great. It really is looking wonderful so far...:) I can only dream of having my creation look as good as this does Jason...:D

mel-ink
12-28-2002, 01:23 PM
Wow! This is fantastic for a first attempt! What sort of paper are you using? I think you've done a great job and hope you consider a few more pastels, I think you'll be very happy with the results if you give yourself a chance :) !

:clap: :clap: :clap:

online art
12-28-2002, 02:20 PM