PDA

View Full Version : Struggling with landscapes

clairew
11-17-2010, 05:33 PM
Hello my name is claire and Im new here.:wave: Im fairly new to Pastels and so far have only followed step by step demonstrations. I'm finding it very difficult to move on from this and tackle a landscape without the security of following a demo.:(

I begin with doing a charcoal thumbnail sketch to get the values; so far so good:) Its when I begin the full painting with the pastels that I struggle.:o

I just feel a bit overwhelmed by the whole process,and don't really know where to begin, I would really appreciate any advice you could give me.

Deborah Secor
11-17-2010, 06:00 PM
Welcome to our forum, Claire. You might take a look at this: CHAPTER THREE -- GETTING STARTED (http://landscapesinpastel.blogspot.com/2010/02/chapter-three-getting-started.html) to see how I suggest approaching the landscape.

clairew
11-17-2010, 06:03 PM
Thank you for the welcome Deborah, I will look now at the link you kindly sent me.:)

DAK723
11-17-2010, 08:01 PM
Welcome to the forum! Landscapes are difficult in pastel, in my opinion, but if you feel pretty comfortable with the initial charcoal sketch than you are already a good way to your goal! I would start with very simple compositions - especially as you are still getting comfortable with the medium. Don't feel that it is too simple to just do one tree in a meadow, for example. Many folks find that doing an underpainting - even if it is just a wash of a few colors - helps cover the paper and makes getting started easier. The nice thing about pastels is there are so many alternatives and approaches!

Don

rugman
11-17-2010, 10:44 PM
Welcome, Claire. Tons of great info here on wet canvas, and Deborahs web book. Have fun and paint. Lots of great people here to share and learn with.

Tisiphone
11-17-2010, 11:27 PM
Welcome, Claire,