PDA

View Full Version : Question about which to buy...Rembrandt vs. Unison

JamieWG
12-14-2002, 09:01 PM
Hi Everybody. I'm new to the pastel forum here on WC. I went to sign up for a morning landscape/still life class and the only one they were offering at a time I could do it was in pastels, so here I am, planning to expand my horizons beyond oils and colored pencils.

The supply list arrived today and I need to buy 60 (yes, SIXTY!!!) Unison or Rembrandt soft pastels for the course. I know zilch about pastels. Which brand should I get??? Although I'm new to pastels, I do take my art seriously.

Many thanks for any advice you can offer,
Jamie

KarenU
12-14-2002, 09:55 PM
Jamie...how exciting your class sounds! I picked up a very nice starter set of 72 Unisons on eBay for a really good price (appx. $80 less than the cheapest I could find on mail order on the internet). I just love them and would highly recommend them. If you do a search on eBay I'm sure you'll find some sets available.

Redsy333
12-14-2002, 11:10 PM
Wow what a corner youre in!
First off if you are close to an Art store...I would go and see if they have some you can sample, just to see the consistency of each. Then I would go online and check out the variation of colors each set contains.
I currently use both:D I have a set of 30 portrait and 30 landscape in Rembrandt.
I also own a set of 60 in Unison<favorite:D
If money is not an issue I would urge you to go to the Unison, especially if you are use to painting with oils. They are much softer and the colors in the general 60 box are wonderful.

I also purchased mine on ebay and was very pleased with my price. I saw that Dickblick has a sale on and I still purchased mine for 100$ less then sale price. :D:D:D
I hope this helps, if you need links to online sites for sales just PM me and I can send you a few. :D

doe
12-15-2002, 08:51 AM