PDA

View Full Version : Colourfix and watercolour underpainting

Yoolie
10-27-2010, 03:42 PM
Hi everybody :wave:

I started painting in watercolour a few years ago and have been wanting to try pastels for some time now. I got a Schmincke Indian Summer set last year for christmas and now's the time to capture those beautiful fall colours.

I'm planning to do an underpainting in watercolour for the sky, clouds, landscape and then do the trees and foliage in pastels. I have some Colourfix clear primer which I want to apply over the watercolour painting. It says on the tin, it should be applied with a damped brush. But will the watercolour stay in place when brushed over? Or should I apply a layer of fixative first? Will that even work?

Also, I've read that some of you do a watercolour underpainting on ready-made Colourfix paper. How does that work? Does the paint sink through the "sanding" into the paper? Does this work with other sanded papers? I know that Schmincke's Sansfix should not come into contact with water. How about Pastelmat and Sennelier's PastelCard?

Thanks for any input and sharing (and letting me learn from) your experiences.

--
julia

Devonlass
10-27-2010, 04:13 PM
You will get a chorus of people warning you not to let water get anywhere near La Carte. Even a sneeze will disintegrate the surface. I personally don't do watercolor underpaintings, but I do know that it works on Colorfix paper just fine. Others will have a lot more input on this.

Ruthie57
10-27-2010, 04:58 PM
Hi, In my limited experience you can indeed do a watercolour underpainting on colourfix. It does sink in a bit and can be rather dull. Now pastelmat is a different kettle of fish. If you have some try watercolour on it....be prepared for it to spread rather like on silk! The tooth is not affected at all so the pastel still goes on great. Sennelier La Carte...as Carol says don't sneeze near it and don't blow on it!!

allydoodle
10-27-2010, 05:34 PM