PDA

View Full Version : Holbein Duos and Acrylics

Dcam
10-07-2010, 05:59 PM
Well I ventured into what the instructions said you could do and combined Holbein duos with acrylics. I was very happy because some of the duos are VERY expensive and I had a wide color range for mixing with the acrylics.
This is my first try. I worked on a pumice mix surface. I heard that some like to work oils on wallis paper, but intead of paying the high price I made my own. The acrylics seem to give an even quicker drying effect than the duos alone. We will see how the painting holds up. It has been a couple of months now. No problems yet. lol. Derek

Hummel's 14x18 approx.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Oct-2010/183894-Hummels3.jpg

karenlee
10-08-2010, 10:09 PM
Cool work! I'm glad to hear someone has tried Duos with acrylics--I didn't buy any Holbein Duos ...yet...thank you for posting!
-Karen

Dcam
10-09-2010, 08:04 PM
Thanks Karen: Glad you stopped in .It was getting lonely out here. :)
derek

Turpintine45
10-13-2010, 12:18 AM
Derek you sure get around. I think I have seen this one before but it is a good one.Once again you take something we pass every day withoput a thought and make something wonderful out of it. Jen

ShannonTeague
10-23-2010, 10:18 PM
What kind of drying time did you get when mixing the Holbein's with acrylic? I'd be interested to hear what ratio you use and how it affected your drying times.

Dcam
10-29-2010, 04:43 PM
Hi Shannon and Jen. Thanks Jen.

Shannon, did you like the painting??? lol
I used about a 50/50 mix and the paint was dry to the "touch" in about 2 hours..... I will not varnish this one for a while.(About 3 months?). BUT: and here is the important thing; if you paint on a sanded surface (pumice), the drying time is faster. That is what I used.
Derek

fancyhorse
12-26-2010, 02:05 PM