PDA

View Full Version : Retro Chic

Veronica
11-20-2002, 12:43 PM
One from my latest series. Comments? I'm not fragile though it does feel I'm uncovering a part of myself. Loving this forum and wanna play too. veronica

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/20-Nov-2002/retr0.jpg

surreal
11-20-2002, 02:42 PM
I love it!!!
:D

jnet11
11-20-2002, 03:37 PM
what is the size and medium?

i find the hard black a bit disconcerting as it doesn't go through out the rest, but I'm no expert :)

Veronica
11-20-2002, 04:33 PM
Surreal.....thank you!!!!!

Jnet it is acrylic 16x20 canvas. I am trying to transition to acrylic after years of oil and willow charcoal. I am struggling with finding a soft black to work with in acrylics and agree it is overpowering in this piece. I have always painted with oils and charcoal so I'm clueless how to integrate blacks into my acrylic palette. I feel as if I put on fatigues and do battle with the acrylics....but love the fast dry. Thanks for your suggestion...it is well received. :)

kaety
11-20-2002, 05:46 PM
Veronica I love the piece so far!

Personally I feel the balance is a little out with all the black at the top. It doesnt "feel" like a black painting as such as the use of the green and pink is gorgeous! Maybe a little less black on the top left and another green leaf??
Remember the joy of acrylic is overpainting , once its dry unlike oils where you scrape it back (from my understanding as a non-oiler - yet) Try maybe some green up there then it wont feel so black also the hair will contrast from the backing

Keep it up once you get used to acrylics they are easy !!!
Im sure you would tell me the same as I am wishing to transition to oils one day and am nervous about it!! :)

Kaety

Veronica
11-20-2002, 07:05 PM
Kaety,