PDA

View Full Version : The Old Burns Barn

irene clark
02-17-2000, 11:56 AM
Hi ya'll.
This is my first attempt at a building. I love the feeling of being beamed back in time, wondering what life went on at those ramshackle farms in days of yore. There seems to be more and more of them popping up, or should I say falling down, where ever I travel. I tried to depict the feeling of restful solitude as the barn is surrounded by falling autumn colors and mounds of toppled over grasses that act as a cozy blanket surrounding the structure as well as the pieces that have already cascaded all around the area. It's just a matter of time before this old barn collapses and slowly sinks under the mounds of leaves and grasses. One more storm ?
Comments anyone? Sorry about the darkness, guess the scanner is on its way out, like the barn.
Thanks so much,
Irene Clark with a heart for art.
<a href="http://www.finearts.yorku.ca/kclark/hart/">Heart to H-ART - Irene Clark</a>
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/User/burnbarn.jpg

[This message has been edited by irene clark (edited February 20, 2000).]

Electra
02-17-2000, 02:58 PM
Irene,

The roof panels look out of perspective. The diagonal lines which indicate the vertical edges of each panel should be parallel with the edges of the roof. It looks like, as you get farther away on the roof, the lines become more vertical and less diagonal. What this does is makes the roofline appear to be getting steeper, when in fact it is probably not (haven't seen this barn, and since it's so old, it may in fact be doing wierd things!)

I agree with B on the weeds. Even if they are there in real life, take artistic license and leave them out. They're distracting and seem almost to be a pattern on the barn walls.

Not sure how much darker than the original this is, but the trees need some shape - lighten up the areas where sun hits them to give them some roundness instead of being flat.

Where is the lightsource in this painting? It's hard to tell.