PDA

View Full Version : New to this with a couple of ?s

cjwilkinson
10-02-2010, 03:22 AM
I am really keen to try my hand at pastels. I am a real newbie.. have been dabbling in acrylics for around 5 months, and have thus far produced 6 paintings. I love the look of pastel paintings and found a set of conte crayons in my cupboard from my daughters' school days. I live in South Africa where resources are limited, to say the least. I am only able to find Canson paper.. I bought a sheet, as well as a box of 28 Rolfes soft pastels. None of the brands that I see on this site are available where I live, other than the Conte. Would I be able to underpaint in acrylic on the Canson paper? Would I start off with the Conte crayons and cover those in the soft pastels? Sorry for so many questions :o

Ruthie57
10-02-2010, 04:58 AM
Hi and welcome to Pastels!
I've never done a wet underpainting on canson but I think it would be worth a try. You may have to tape it down and I can't guarantee it won't buckle. Let us know how you get on.
If not doing an underpainting try using the smooth side of the canson...many pastelists find that it takes the pastel layers better than the textured side (try both though and see which you prefer).
The contes are quite hard pastels and good for initial drawings and detail. You are right that it's probably best to lay them down first and keep the softer pastels for top layers. Once you have a couple of layers of soft pastel on the contes will cut through them rather than laying further colour on top of them.
Oh, and don't do what I did (still do) and put thick coats of soft pastel on. You'll find the tooth of the paper will soon fill so you can't get further layers on. try and use a gentle touch with the softies.
Most importantly...HAVE FUN!!!

cjwilkinson
10-02-2010, 05:53 AM