PDA

View Full Version : October Sketchbook Challenge

denyalle
10-01-2010, 12:09 AM
This is so exciting now that I've decided to join in. I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's sketchbooks develop, and definitely hoping to break some of the ceilings I've put on myself with sketching and drawing. Over the last few years I've gone through very artsy periods and then lulled and so my abilities would always slip below the sub par that they were at beforehand.

My main goal here is to try and build my confidence in taking risks in art, maybe even a life lesson involved as well. You'll notice that in my first page where I had written a saying to inspire me with the sketchbook and in other situations. I'm studying abroad in Chile for the semester, I've been here since the end of July and am going to mid-December. Some things haven't gone how I thought they'd go and I just need to remind myself to keep truckin' sometimes :).

Anyway, the sketchbook I bought here so I'm unfamiliar with the brand (tegraph) and the paper is very smooth and thinner than I normally go for. It's 100 pages of white paper and 16x21 centimeters (A5). One of the things that I'm taking a chance with in this book is that I'm going to try and do more pen and ink drawings, scary since I'm always erasing things! But because the paper is relatively thin, I'll likely only use one side of each paper. I bought a set of Staedtler Triplus Fineliner pens to get me inspired. I had just recently bought a single black pen of the same style and loved it, so I wanted all the colors!

Up until today I wasn't planning on doing this challenge, and I had bought the pens and the book on Tuesday. So I started a teensy bit early.