PDA

View Full Version : Back to Basics - Practice Journal

Carole A
09-28-2010, 07:59 PM
It's been a long time since I've done any art so :I've decided that I need to get some practice in on shapes, values and perspective. Here's my first effort. The picture quality isn't great, I tried scanning on the office scanner and it just didn't work well, so I took digital photos and that's not really great either.

The book is a self-closing comb binder with several papers that I have punched so that I have whatever paper suits my mood du jour, 8 1/2 x 11. I like it because the cover is hard plastic that will travel well and I can open, remove completed pages and rebind them in groups.

Colored pencils baffle me, but it's my first attempt with them; they're Lyra Polycolors

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Sep-2010/20701-art_journal,_page_2.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Sep-2010/20701-Art_Journal__pg__1.jpg

Please feel free to critique.

Carole A

robertsloan2
09-28-2010, 09:28 PM
Carole, this is gorgeous. I love your tulip demo. I read that article and think you really got it, that's a great lesson and your tulip came out beautiful. Well done!

DrDebby
09-28-2010, 10:48 PM
Great job on this.

For colored pencils, it depends. They can be layered (like glazing in painting) to create great depth to colors. Since they are primarily translucent, you see the layers underneath. The typical words of wisdom are, sharp (poke your eye out) points and a very light touch and lots of layers. However, it totally depends on what you are trying to achieve. Sometimes a dull point and only a few layers is all you need. Practice with them and see how you like to work with them. The color can be laid down with side by side strokes, cross-hatching, or tiny overlapping circles, or even scribbles. Again it depends on what you are trying to achieve and the way you work with dry media.