PDA

View Full Version : Sharing a fun watercolor

Gisele
11-11-2002, 11:52 AM
Like I promised to the guys in the TAW chat last night here is a watercolor I did this week. This is somewhat of a "what if" painting. What if I was 5 years old what would I enjoy painting? What if I painted it on the brand new paper I've never tried before? What if I listen to cosmic music while doing it? What if I put wax paper here and there? What if I used bold colours? What if I took the masking tape off as soon as it's done?( It tore the edge of the painting...) What if I don't have any expectations of the outcome of it all? What if I want to try the same subject again but this time on the watercolor paper I am used to?

I can not express the fun I had painting this and the freedom that remained after. The peace inside of "knowing" that painting anything is ok and not to get stressed up with people's expectations. I like the peace of my studio and I realise now how much not having one in the past was such a big deal after all.

All comments are welcome and I would especially like to know what are your feelings when looking at this painting.

Thank you!

Gisele:)

hummingbird
11-11-2002, 02:18 PM
Wow Gisele!! And you got a great painting out of it too! Sounds like it was very freeing. When I first started reading your post..and I couldn't see the painting yet till I scrolled further down..I first thought maybe you were gonna paint your house, your brothers and sisters --you know like a 5 yr. old would and that woulda been fun too cause it puts you back in touch with being a kid again. But then as I read and got further down and saw your painting...wow. Alls I can say is let yourself play more often! Nice job!

Pat