PDA

View Full Version : First Attempt at Watercolor- Help Please

BillieD
10-24-1999, 06:27 PM
I think you did an excellent job on your first attempt. Us beginners tend to go a bit pale...afraid of messing up those lovely effects...

I am in the second stage, overcompensating. I am just beginning to recognize the difference between when I've glazed correctly, before I have a mud pie. The one thing you want to remember when you are glazing, allow it to dry completely between each glazing, or you will be picking up the previous layers and make a mud puddle.

In other words, I am trying to learn some patience. It is easy to tell you what needs to be done...not so easy to do!

Good luck and keep up the good work!

Rod
10-24-1999, 07:50 PM
Hi,
I wouldn't disturb your painting, it's a great way to remember your favorite pet and your first watercolor. Billie is right the first washes must be thoroughly dry. Apply washes lightly with a soft brush and you should not disturb the previous wash. If you are only painting a small area and want soft edges, then wet a larger area with clear water and then apply second color wet into wet. Or I should say not so wet into wet.Experiment first just applying wet into wet techniques you will get nice soft edges and sometimes as the first wash dries if you continue a cauliflower will be produced.
Rod

Phyllis Franklin
10-25-1999, 12:31 AM