PDA

View Full Version : Which Coloured Pencils are best for beginners??

moo67
11-10-2002, 03:35 AM
:confused: Hi i am just starting out in colour pencil and i am totally confused and mind boggled.Can you give me some suggestions and advice on choosing the coloured pencils.I ahve been looking at the following brands: Primsacolour,Carandache,Derwent,Brynzeel,Rembrandt and Stabilo,any feed back on any of these products would be so welcomed.Also when you are starting out what size set is more versatile to use.I am also looking at buying some books and kits from Anne Kullberg and Pat Averill,so im not sure on the size of the colour range needed or if all the different brands are colour compatibale.
I really appreciate your time and help as i admire all of your works so very much and it is quite overwhelming for a beginner ...or should i say a yet to beginner!!!!

Moo

JamieWG
11-10-2002, 08:02 AM
Dear Moo,

Of course everybody has their personal taste, but I haven't heard many complaints about Prismacolor, plus they are readily available as open stock (individual pencils, rather than a set). So you can buy a set to start with, and add individual colors as you need them or when the originals get used up.

Somebody in this forum (Colleen) has been using the new Van Gogh lightfast pencils too, which she likes very much. Those are not yet available in open stock.

If you go with Caran d'Ache, stick with the Pablo line, or if you want watercolor pencils, the Supracolor line. Pablos are available as open stock. I thought the Supracolors were too, but now that I'm trying to find the open stock, I can't.

I'm really not fond of the other brands I've tried. My personal recommendation would be that you stick with Prismacolor to begin with. They're a sort of "industry standard".

Jamie

JustjoGA
11-10-2002, 08:07 AM
Good advice from Jamie... I concur.

ironhorse
11-10-2002, 09:48 AM