PDA

View Full Version : question

soulsketcher
11-07-2002, 05:32 PM
i don't know if this the right forum to be in.. but i am a young artist who needs to put art in her life everyday. I am a full time student and have a part time job but i feel like i need to exercise my artistic side...any daily thing i can do to help me feel more balanced?

any suggections welcome...if this is a wrong forum then please direct me to another one.

thanks!!

JamieWG
11-07-2002, 07:11 PM
Dear Soulsketcher,

What about keeping a sketchbook journal? You can keep it in your purse with some colored pencils or india ink pens and do quick or longer sketches whenever you find yourself somewhere you have to wait. It's a great way to keep up your drawing skills and will remind you of some of the day to day things you've seen and appreciated.

Jamie

Blueyog
11-07-2002, 09:48 PM
An art journal seems to be the best idea.

This or a small art piece each day :)

gnu
11-08-2002, 03:17 AM
Even when you run out of time or cannot do sketching at that particular moment, jot down future ideas, or some things you'd like to work on...colours, subjects composition, medium....
Sometimes really cool unique ideas pop into your head, and then forgotten 5 min later if not written down...works for me, then refer to your notes when U need inspiration!!!

Chadda
11-08-2002, 06:47 PM
I agree with the above posts. Keep a little sketchbook with you. There are aome wonderful little blank hardcovers out today. Best of luck!

impressionist2
11-09-2002, 07:59 AM
Soulsketcher, I wanted to jump start my daughter's (29 years) languishing art career- (she has a full time job). I bought her a great book on drawing. I never had to say another word. She is quoting me pages from it, and doing the drawing exercises everyday.

I will find out the name and title and get back to you.

The sketch book is a great idea

Renee

soulsketcher
11-14-2002, 05:46 PM