PDA

View Full Version : Completely lost as to what to buy!

LapelPin
09-15-2010, 08:38 PM
Greetings all,

As you probably will notice, I am brand-new to this community and I apologize in advance if I have already made a mistake with posting!

I am a portrait artist looking to buy professional quality, water soluble oil paints, but I am having trouble deciding.

I bought some Windsor and Newton colours to 'test drive' the medium, and while I enjoyed it I did not enjoy W&N- I have never been fond of that brand.

Now, I try to restrict myself from buying supplies that are not made in the USA or are distributed by very large companies. I've read about Holbein's paint, but it's such a large company I worry about product quality loss.

So, I guess I'm asking for advice on what to buy! I paint hyper-realism portraits; I prefer a "faster" drying time, but heavens, no where near fast like acrylics and such. I'm just a bit impatient. ;) I like companies with a good, solid, reputable history and companies who also take pride in their company history.

So any advice on which company to buy from? Again, I paint mostly people, I paint on Hardbord/Masonite and...I like very good, trust-worthy companies.

(Again, sorry if I have made any mistakes! It's daunting with the first post!)

Crystal1
09-15-2010, 10:12 PM