PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated

animal
10-17-2000, 09:27 PM
As I have been drawing for a couple years and have only used acrylics for a little while , i am frustrated and can`t seem to depict fur like in my drawings,also I am frustrated because my water doesn`t look as real as I want it to be

LarrySeiler
10-17-2000, 10:34 PM
I certainly don't want to discourage you Animal....but, I have to be blunt honest.

When I teach painting to adults, I let them know that as beginners they have to do 120 bad paintings just to learn something about painting.

Edgar Degas once said, "Painting is easy for those that don't know how, but very difficult for those that do!"

There is good reason we "ooh and ahh!" excellent work, because it is not easy to learn nor master, and requires much personal sacrifice.

So...let's pretend you were a student of mine in a class I was teaching, and after 3 different painting attempts felt painting fur (or anything for that matter) was something you weren't meant to do or capable of.

I would tell people who tried painting a few times that said painting was not for them, that they were wholly unqualified to make that determination. And the same for those frustrated as though something "ought" to come easier. At three paintings, you don't know enough about painting to know what your potential is. At fifty paintings you know a bit more what your potential is, but at about 120 paintings you will know what your potential is.

After painting wildlife art for roughly 20 years, when I decided to start painting landscapes...I knew I would be going back to near ground level. I fully expected that I would have to do about 120 paintings to learn something about landscape painting. I have done about 140 such paintings in the last 18-20 months.

So...it is not that you can't learn this thing Animal, but yes...admittedly, it may be tough for awhile. Some sayings in athletics are, "quitters never win; winners never quit!" "You never fail until you quit!"