PDA

View Full Version : Guidance for a new artist.

BevL
10-12-2000, 09:16 AM
Hi, this is my first post. I am a self taught painter, and my focus is avian art- parrots to be specific. Last year I attempted my very first paintings in realism, and have recently started to offer my prints to parrot lovers.
I hate to admit it, but I paint from photograghs, because I do not have access to the species of parrots that I want to paint. My goal is to portray the birds as we parrot owners know them- silly, intelligent, etc.
So far, most of my paintings show them just sitting on a perch or branch, avoiding them seeming as if they are birds in the wild.
I need ideas on how to place the perches or brances- so far they are just floating in mid-air. Also, I would like to learn how to make the feathers more realistic. I have no formal training in painting, so am pretty much making up my own rules. My work can be seen at www.avianexpressions.com (http://www.avianexpressions.com)
Can you give me some pointers, let me know what's right and what's wrong? I really want to make my paintings the best they can be.
Thanks
Bev

tammy
10-12-2000, 08:13 PM
I'll bet that Larry or animal could help you with the feathers. I wish I had the message with the thread where Larry describes feathers to someone else. He's pretty darn good.
Oh and welcome to Wetcanvas. Someone here can help.

------------------
Tammy "the I don't know what kind of Artist, artist"

animal
10-17-2000, 09:35 PM
I have not yet painted birds but I have to paint them sooner or later, I just have to keep practising with my painting rather than drawing,.There is a book at Chapters called keys to painting fur and feathers,with a parrot/macaw done in coloured pencil plus many other birds and animals,check it out!

LarrySeiler
10-17-2000, 11:04 PM
Hi Bev...

Your work as a beginner is very impressive, and your site quite professional in appearance.