PDA

View Full Version : painted plate

Aqua Artist
10-20-2002, 06:16 PM
Okay I went and bought these pebeo paints after losing a $1500 tile job because I had no experience and no kiln. I thought I would start small and gain some hands on experience painting anything white in my cupboard. be kind, this is my first plate, but also be honest ! They say that these paints will withstand just about anything, anyone else have experience with this paint?
this is a little church down the road in Stony Fork, va.
Thanks!

sassybird
10-21-2002, 02:27 AM
I have never used those paints before. Did you paint this on stoneware? Did you have to fire it afterwards? I'm really interested in this. I would love to design my own dishes. Is the paint safe to eat off of? I have heard that some are not.

Please give some more details of how the paint moves on the surface, if you had to prime the surface first. Shoot, why don't you do an article :D

Aqua Artist
10-21-2002, 08:37 AM
The paint is Porcelaine 150 and you do not need a kiln.
I painted on an already glazed plate. First you clean with denatured alcohol to remove any dirt or oil. It was slippery painiting but not all that difficult. after painting you must set aside your work for a day to allow drying before baking.Then You place in a cold oven and put it to 150 degrees. You turn off the oven after 30 minutes but let the piece remain in the oven until it cools..don't open to look as a draft may crack the ceramic. after this process, the plate (or whatever) is lightfast, solvent resistant and dishwasher safe and yes, you can use it for serving dinner! I put my plate through the test running it through the dishwasher and scrubbing it and it passed the test.