PDA

View Full Version : Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IrishIsle
10-18-2002, 11:23 PM
Complete newbie here in regards to pastels! I have been using watercolors for the past 8 years and have just discovered an old box of oil pastels in my studio that probably belonged to my mother lol. So I thought I'd give them a try and the result is that I am head over heels in love and I don't know how to go about it!

What are the best kinds of pastels I should use? Why are they all in sticks without points, how do you apply fine detail? Do you use linseed oil or turpentine to make washes? Whats the best paper I should use? Is there any special technique I should know about?

I'm crazy about them. Please help!

libbylee
10-19-2002, 01:29 AM
Just dive in!! Use the sides for large areas, shave a point if you want one, use short strokes or long ones or scumble with the side. There are pastel pencils, too. Crosshatch, layer or create an area with powdered soft pastel. You can use it over watercolor washes or combine with soft pastels or charcoal or probably anything else. I like Mi tiens paper, but I have gotten good results with mat board. Experiment with anything you like & see whether or not you like the results. It is one of the most versatile mediums I have ever used! You'll love it.

Redsy333
10-19-2002, 11:10 AM
Welcome Irish Isle!!!!:D
Glad to have ya aboard! Oh and welcome to your new addiction;)
There are heaps of information within the threads, just start with the Sticky threads and work your way thru. The postings with WIP (work in progress) really helped me on tips and tricks as well.
I know you will soon be posting away and look forward to seeing all your creations!!!
Cheers,
Redsy

chookbrown
10-19-2002, 11:36 AM
Welcome Irish... I don't know anything about oil pastels but have been having a lot of fun learning about soft (chalk style) pastels. So many talented people here who are willing to share info so just ask away and I know you will get the answers you need!!

Cheers