PDA

View Full Version : New tutorial: Drying times

scottb
01-19-1999, 06:32 PM
I've posted a new tutorial in the oils category entitled, "Paint Drying Times" - if you are just getting into oil painting, this is a must-read... :-)

Cheers.
Scott

rebob
02-08-1999, 01:20 AM
Scott
Really appreciate your chart on drying times.
As you can guess, I'm what I call a "Sunday Painter" (read "rank amateur") and will take all of the help I can get. As I'm just getting started with oils, I, for one, would appreciate a similar chart on "Lean" and "Fat" colors when you have nothing else to do :-)

Thanks again!

scottb
02-08-1999, 05:24 AM
Hi there Rebob.

I'm not sure what you mean by "fat" and "lean" colors. "Fat" paint is not thinned with medium, while "lean" paint is. Hence, the old "fat over lean" concepts of oil painting. Hmm - time for a new tutorial?

However, oil paints do have different levels of opacity. Some paints are more transparent than others - is this what you need?

Best regards.
Scott

rebob
02-08-1999, 08:57 PM
A-HA!!! See, again your straight forward answer saves the day! I guess there was a real misunderstanding on my part re "Fat" and "Lean" paints - My interpretation of all that I've read was that the color had a lot to do with it. Yeah, a tutorial on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again and keep up the great work!!!!!

PS: I understand the opacity/transparancy issue.

Paul Isaacs
03-14-1999, 06:38 AM
I thought a fat color was one that needed a lot of oil when making up the paint, e.g. terre verte, and a lean one needed little, e.g. true naples yellow.

------------------
Paul Isaacs
Please remove nospam and the extra com from address when replying by mail

scottb
03-15-1999, 09:51 AM
I stand corrected - thanks for pointing that out, Paul. I should have used the word "thinner" instead of medium!

Fat colors contain a higher degree of medium, generally "oil".

Thin colors, of course, have a lesser degree of medium.