PDA

View Full Version : FINALLY deliberately broke some pastels. Feel like I've turned a corner :-)

Anne-Marie
08-11-2010, 09:50 PM
Hi everyone!

Well, July came and went, taken up in large part with switching out the master bedroom and my former studio so I could have more studio space. Very time-consuming but so worth it. I love my new space, even as I continue to tweak it.

A friend came over a couple weeks ago to ring in the new studio with me and we got busy with our art. I started a piece based on an illustration that interested me. I picked it up again yesterday and it the midst of doing the details, I realized I needed a sharper edge and so--yes!--I BROKE my pastel (for those of you who don't know, this has been a huge issue for me. I'm new to pastels and the idea of DELIBERATELY breaking a pastel was just huge hurdle to jump.) I was amazed at how well it worked out--that the pastels (Terry Ludwigs and Faber Castells) broke very nicely and cleanly, and they produced sharp, clear lines. I also was able to use the sides better to scumble (sp?) and blend. Just like people here had been trying to tell me!!! :clap: I also am forcing myself not to continually wipe my pastels (unless they are really dirty) and not worry about them touching eachother. I am trying to mindfully use this--the opportunity to make art--de-shackle me from useless compulsions that negatively impact my productivity, my creativity, and my happiness.:clap:

Thanks to all for helping me get over this one! Yay!:clap:

(see pix for the "evidence" ;-) along with the work-in-progress)

creatividee
08-11-2010, 10:20 PM
Seeing the title of your post made me smile. I too was resistant to breaking the sticks...guess it goes back to the childhood when getting a new box of crayons and wanting to keep them as "new" as possible...doing best not to break them, not taking the paper wrappers off, keeping them in order, etc. Glad you're enjoying your new space!

Anne-Marie
08-11-2010, 10:50 PM