GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Donny
Year Created: 2002
Medium: Watercolor
Surface: Watercolor Paper
Dimension: 11X17
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Hi...I have been doing watercolor for only two months and this is my first drawing to painting portrait...I'v had problems with his right eye...looks a little like one-eyed-jack...this can be delt with later...I plan to do it in Oils. Would like any suggestions on how to punch it up. I think the background is blaugh...but It is taken from a photo...he was on a trail ride and that is suppose to be snow.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Please don't hold back...feelings take a back seat to knowledge.

madster
10-10-2002, 07:08 PM
Work on the hat more than the eye.

It's too monochomatic.
If you want to "punch" it up, contrast is the key.
If you don't want to use very dramatic colors, which for an outdoor portrait wouldn't work real well, you make sure your values from light to dark regarding your subject really stand out.

On your computer, if possible, look at image in simple B&W. This will give you a better indication of what needs to be emphasized.

Without a computer, use a piece of red or blue cellophane, the old style 3-D paper eyeglasses are great for this!

Good Luck!
Madster

henrik
10-12-2002, 10:18 AM
Looking good, but isn't that a lot of hat? I am of cource guessing, but it seems like the hat is too large for the man; a bit like a boy borrowing his father's hat...

Attached is an image where I reduced the size of the hat, and increased contrast on the face. I smudged the background, and think that works when the details are lost.

The eyes are fine.

henrik
10-20-2002, 03:40 PM
Hi, I had an email conversation with Sunny1, and here is the reference photo.

henrik
10-20-2002, 03:43 PM
Here is an edited image where the hat is painted in from the photo after scaling it to the size of the face. As you can see I left the original hat in the background.

henrik
10-20-2002, 04:00 PM