PDA

View Full Version : Acrylic Impasto

ivan1
05-24-2001, 10:52 AM
I'm an chemist, not a painter. I bought a canvas and paints 6 weeks ago and produced 4 oil paintings. My goal is to paint like Tom Thomson of the group of seven, as I have spent lots of time in northern Ontario where many of their images come from. Hence I have thick gobs of paint, (impasto?), on my canvases.

I am concerned about the fumes involved with oil painting even though I use almost no solvents, and paint right out of the tube, the oil smell bothers me. Therefore I have purchased some Winsor and Newton Finity paints. The drying time is taking some getting used to but it makes me work faster, and looser, which is what the group of seven painters seemed to do. My question is, can I get thick impasto type efects with acrylic? Are there other brands of acrylics ( heavy body by golden) which might be more useful for what I am trying to acomplish? Any help will be greatly appreciated. I will try to get one of my paintings on this site soon for your advise

Thank you
Ivan

LarrySeiler
05-24-2001, 05:09 PM
I use "Liquitex Matte Opaque Extender Gel Medium" formerly called, "Gelex"

It is white thick acrylic substance that dries clear. You mix up to about 1/2 and 1/2 with colored pigment, and it holds to a much greater thickness and texture.

I use quite a bit of a painter's knife with some of my acrylic landscape technique...and have found it to be quite handy.

Larry

------------------
The "Artsmentor"
http://www.artsmentor.org

"Painting is easy when you don't know how, but very difficult when you do!" Edgar Degas

ivan1
05-24-2001, 06:02 PM
Thanks for the advice, I'll see what the local art suppy store has in terms of gels and give it a try.

VictoriaS
05-25-2001, 12:25 AM
Hi, Ivan: