PDA

View Full Version : CAN YOU SEE THE DIFFERENCE? ACRYLIC/OIL

ivan1
05-28-2001, 10:18 AM
My firt few painting were in oil. I was quite happy with the results and enjoyed painting in oil. The fumes did bother me a bit even though I use almost no solvents, and mostly paint out of the tube. Strangely enough I believe it may be the linseed oil that gets to me. So I have now done two paintings in acrylic. Although the dry time took some getting used to I am begining to quite like them. In fact I am having trouble seeing any difference between the oil and acrylic paintings.All are landscapes. Since I'm new to all this I would like to hear what others think about what the end result differences are. Possibly If I had never used oil paints I would not be trying to compare acrylics with oils in terms of how they are applied.

ivan1
05-28-2001, 01:14 PM
Ginette

I checked out some of your paintings on your www link. Very nice. I can't see any difference between them and oils.

LDianeJohnson
05-28-2001, 02:33 PM
The only way to really tell the difference between an oil and acrylic paintings is when acrylics have had the reputation for having a "plastic" appearance. But this is all remedied in the handling of the material.

Diane

------------------
L. Diane Johnson (http://www.LDianeJohnson.com/) NAPA, PSA
2001/2002 Plein Air Workshops (http://www.LDianeJohnson.com/workshops/)

GC
05-28-2001, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by ivan1:
Ginette

I checked out some of your paintings on your www link. Very nice. I can't see any difference between them and oils.

Thank You.

The point that Diane made is one that I have heard before and in the beginning many of my pieces had that appearance.
I have experimented a lot and figured out ways to get rid of that plastic look.
For other styles that plastic look actually works great.
I have seen pieces that are ideal done in acrylic for their bright colors for instance.

Ginette

GC
05-29-2001, 12:54 AM