PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Procrastination

LeslieErica
07-26-2010, 03:18 PM
I'm scared to death. I am a beginning artist, and as I mentioned in another post, I have been taking pastels lessons for 3 weeks. I've been working on a project, a still life, and I am quite pleased with an apple that I painted. As a matter of fact, I would venture to say that it is the best looking apple ever created by human hands:clap: I created it 2 days ago. Now I cannot sit down at my easel and continue with the project. I have a sense of fear that if I work on the remainder of the painting, the whole thing will go to @#$%. I'm so unsure of my ability to continue to do well that I'm cleaning the house, surfing the net, anything to not go in there and face the painting. I'm very excited about it and interested in it. I'm just afraid of it. Do any of you have fear/procrastination problems? I'd like to not feel so alone in my psychosis here. Thank you. Leslie

Dougwas
07-26-2010, 03:59 PM
Hi Leslie

I know exactly how you feel. I think it is quite common, because you think there is no way you will be able to do as well on your next painting. As you say, you just painted "the best looking apple ever created by human hands." :thumbsup:

It took me a long time to get over that feeling. I think by participating in threads like The Spotlight and The Monthly Sketch Thread got me over this feeling. There is no pressure to create masterpieces and both threads have a friendly group of peolpe at all levels of skill.

Another thing to remember is, it is just paper. If you paint a stinker and don't want anyone to see it, just grab another piece of paper and try again. I still sometimes do two or three paintings from one photo.

So, grab a pear and another piece of paper and paint away! Have fun and remember, there is no pressure. Just try painting something every day. Before you know it, you will wonder what all the fuss was about.

Good luck and get dusty.

Doug

lisapencil