GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Study of Farrier and Assistant
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Board
Dimension: 10
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This painting, based off an old family photograph which I have also included, shows a middle aged man and his young assistant re-shoeing a mule inside of a ba<br>.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I am new to painting figures, and I am looking for any suggestions on how to improve the painting. Particularly, I am interested in your input on the composition and colors, but any suggestions are welcome.

Corby
07-20-2010, 12:42 PM
Welcome to the critique forums! It is wonderful that you have shared such a good beginning work with us!

I have been thinking about this one for some time, trying to decide what my thoughts were...:

1. You could have gone either of two ways here. Work the reference for all its worth in great detail. This may have been a good choice for those unnaquainted with what a farrier does. All of the odds and ends adds visually to the story being told.

2. You could have dispensed with the whole scene as it is and moved it to the barn yard. I remember the farrier coming in and doing re-shoeing of the horses under the tree behind the house.