PDA

View Full Version : Split paint tubes

JamieWG
09-29-2002, 12:50 AM
Greetings, fellow painters. I'm a newbie here, enjoying this forum very much! I'm wondering if any of you have tips for split tubes of paint. I've got three of 'em wrapped up in baggies, and what a mess they've become! The holes in the tubes are very small for such a big mess! Does anybody out there have some advice for me? Some of these are very expensive colors. The splits are closer to the top of the tubes than to the bottoms. Many thanks to anyone who can help me....
Jamie

scottb
09-29-2002, 01:19 AM
Well, for starters, you should consider switching brands, if these tubes aren't ancient. :)

I'm wondering if you couldn't clean off the oustides of the tubes, and coat them with a strong glue - perhaps an epoxy - then, tightly wrap some sort of covering around it. Not sure - never had this happen to me - only had a few tubes split at the bottom where the crimp is - and those, of course, are easy to fix.

You could also squeeze it all out into a new tube ... buy some empty tubes and a crimper. :)

Cheers.
Scott

Patrick1
09-29-2002, 01:36 AM
You could try covering the holes with duct tape (either the regular plastic kind or the aluminum kind).

guillot
09-29-2002, 09:03 AM
Would SuperGlue work? Or Silicone? Never had that problem. How, or why, did they split that way?

JamieWG
09-29-2002, 10:57 AM
Originally posted by guillot
Would SuperGlue work? Or Silicone? Never had that problem. How, or why, did they split that way?

Hi Giullot.

I bought a huge lot of new Rembrandt paints on Ebay that were poorly packed. It was such a great deal that even with the three tubes that split in shipping, I was happy with the paints.

I also have a split tube of WN Artists Cad Yellow Pale. That one's a killer because I use it all the time. I don't know how that one split. 'Must have happened rattling around in my toolbox or easel.