PDA

View Full Version : advice needed

jbrules
09-28-2002, 06:07 PM
hi all im new to this pastel thing as I normal paint watercolor. but need to branch out of my rut. so went out spent my birthday money and bought a rembrant 90 soft pastel box. now the money thats left is just about zilch, what else do I need. do I need the hard pastel to blend or can you use just the paper tool that rod makes from cardboard. what about the pastel pensil they look like they would be good for sharp edges. but Im not sure where to go or what else to buy. also I like the thought of using my watercolor paper with washes sound like a great idea seeing I have plenty of the stuff. is there a big difference in the papers. Im going back to the shops on monday to pick up the next essentials so tell me please what else do I really need without getting carried away. thanks in advance . Jan

jackiesimmonds
09-28-2002, 06:41 PM
Jan - first go to the library to see if you can find a decent book on working with pastels, rather than trying to work it all out on your own. You will pick up advice and inspiration, if the author is any good. Blowing my own trumpet here ... look out for PASTELS WORKBOOK by Jackie Simmonds!!! Simple to follow, good for beginners to pastels.

then, get some really nice pastel papers, in different colours. It is good to try working on, say, Canson Mi Teinte paper, which has two sides, one slightly more textured than the other. Try both sides to see which you prefer. Buy some grey paper, some warm-coloured buff paper, and something dark too. You get different results with different coloured papers.