PDA

View Full Version : new to pastels

jesusRIGsinker
07-01-2010, 04:56 PM
Hi everyone!
I'm a beginner with soft pastels. I just bought a half-stick 30 piece
set of rembrant's soft pastels, and I want to know what experience have you guys had with Rembrant's? Do you recommend any other brands? If so can you tell me your experience with other brands? Also I was wondering if anyone uses ultra matte medium from liquitex as a ground for pastels? If not, what grounds/primers do you recommend for layering and to keep the pastel from smudging? I would appreciate any advice. Thank you!

Colorix
07-01-2010, 05:38 PM
A warm welcome to WetCanvas!

The Rembrandt pastels are a medium hard pastel of professional quality, and it is factory made. As with every brand, some like it, and some don't. They're good enough that award winning pastel painters use them.

There are several good primers, including making your own. You can find lots of info on pastel brands, papers, and other things by doing a “search this forum”, in any forum, as there is lots of information buried in the mass of posts.

Do browse around in the forums, there are all sorts of great things going on, both for your chosen medium and for subjects.

You can access any Forum by using the “Forum Jump” located at the bottom right of the screen, and within forums there is often sub-forums, and very useful “stickied” threads at the top of the first page of every forum and subforum.

Enjoy the site and all the wonderful people on it,

Charlie

jesusRIGsinker
07-01-2010, 05:48 PM
thanks for the help Colorfix! I will continue to search through Pastels forums! Much appreciated!

Nansketch
07-01-2010, 08:00 PM