PDA

View Full Version : Dena's first Moleskine (Pocket)

suruchi
06-30-2010, 02:38 PM
Hi everyone, :wave:
I've been on WC for a fw months and normally spend my time over in pastels. However my art interests also include watercolor, graphite, charcoal and pen and ink. I've been totally addicted to reading about all of your journals everyday so I'm jumping in with my own. I'm very new to journaling and have been doodling for a month or so. I finally got the nerve to use the Moleskines I bought a couple weeks ago. Robert knows that story! :lol:

This first drawing is of my mom's recipe box. The text reads:
"In January, 2009, a few weeks before her death, Mom and I sat together on a Sunday afternoon and went through all her recipes. Although she had books of recipes she had collected over the years, this is the one I remember from my childhood. A little metal box that was a gift at her wedding in 1947."
Watercolor pencils, regular colored pencils and Tombow pens

suruchi
06-30-2010, 02:45 PM
This is a graphite sketch I just did today. It is of a spur belonging to my ex-husband. I'm planning to do two graphite drawings as a gift for my son. One will be of his dad's spurs and the other will be of his own. In our family we are blessed in that my husband and I are best friends with my ex and his wife. Didn't happen easily or quickly but it did happen. What a joy for all of us! :thumbsup:
P.S. Since I like to work in graphite and charcoal, I cut some pieces of glassine to fit the pages in my journals and keep them in the back pocket of each. That will prevent the smudging ruining the facing page.

suruchi
06-30-2010, 02:49 PM
Can someone tell me how to correct the spelling for "pocket" in the title of this thread? Or can a guide do it for me? Thanks!
Dena

Jakesgram
06-30-2010, 03:32 PM