PDA

View Full Version : Paper???

wildlifeart89
06-27-2010, 12:05 PM
Hi everyone:wave:
I'm going out today to buy some new pastel paper. I just wanted to know what paper you all use. I mostly painting wildlife, so if theres any papers that work great for fur? I've done a couple pastel paintings so I'm still a beginner. Thanks!
Paige:)

chuas2
06-27-2010, 12:37 PM
Hi Paige, you may consider getting a paper sampler either from Dakota or Fine Arts store, since there are SO many, and everyone finds something different works for their particular style.

I've only done fur a couple times, but liked Clairefontaine Pastelmat. It's smooth in feeling if you're using pencils or sharpened sticks to do detailed fur. Probably better than sanded surfaces would be my guess.

Phil Bates
06-27-2010, 01:56 PM
If you are doing tiny detailed work, I could see how lower grit sanded papers might not be the best, however, I wouldn't rule out 600 or 800 grit UART.

Phil

Colorix
06-27-2010, 04:14 PM
Clairefontaine Pastelmat Card, definitely. It takes details really well, holds a surprising amount of pastel. Did I say 'holds'? Wrong, it *grabs* it. Several wildlife artists (pastel) really love that paper, as they can paint fur hair by hair, and Pastelmat gives crisper lines than what velour does, and allows for *many* more layers than ordinary papers.

Charlie

CarolaH
07-01-2010, 02:36 PM
i like the way PastelMat grabs the pastel but i am having trouble blending on it. i can't seem to get a smooth transition from one color to another or with layering. i have tried varies pastels, pan, ludwig, GA's and more. any suggestions from anyone using PastelMat?

thie one think i don't like is the pad. it says 9.5 x 12 but it really is 11.5 not 12. i love the colors tho.

K Taylor-Green
07-02-2010, 11:53 AM