GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Country Field With White and Red Flowers
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 9x7
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
My second attempt at painting. It's really small painting.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Any and all comments and suggestions are appreciated.

StephenP
06-22-2010, 02:51 PM
As a fellow newbie, I like this painting. Nice job for a second attempt! I'll make a few comments: My eye was immediately drawn the to the cloud in the upper left section of the painting, and it felt like it didn't belong there. I was also confused by the use of yellow there. If it's the sun, I'd like to see more light leaking from behind those clouds and hitting the beautiful field.

crazywoman53
06-22-2010, 05:08 PM
A very nice impressionistic view and congrats on your second painting! There are some very basic guidelines when it comes to painting landscapes regardless of whether your style is realistic or impressionistic or something inbetween. The sky is always the lightest value as that is where your light source is, the land is the second lightest and the upright.. trees would be your darkest. Also the values are darker the closer to and lighter as you go back. Many colors can read as white so in the case of your flowers if you were to add very, very, very light hues of yellow or blues or pinks it would read as white but add interest to your flowers. I would also try moving your little yellow house more to the left so it leads the eye into the painting rather than out. Perhaps Corby will come along and do his graph of the golden lines for you demonstrating why. Overall a nice second painting. It will be exciting to watch your style develop.

peterpesta
06-23-2010, 06:22 AM
Thank you all for your comments and suggestions. Truly appreciate them.