PDA

View Full Version : Down the Barcoo

greensyster
06-14-2010, 04:48 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/06-14-2010/135872_downbarcoo.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Down the Barcoo
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 30 x 40ins
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
The obedient Herefords plod along in the bull dust shepherded by Smarty the blue heeler.<br><br>My Dad was a Jackaroo and we loved to hear his tales of the complex social life of cattle on the 'long paddocks'

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I am an Australian painter so I know our red dirt might not seem kosher all over the world but allowing for that - I value all constructive critiques.

tgsloth
06-14-2010, 07:20 AM
Well, this is getting ridiculous. I rate this painting as your best and superior to the one that won. I try to find words of praise and just sputter. You want constructive criticism? I think the signature if positioned too high on the picture plane. See if you can't work on that problem.

rusted_art
06-14-2010, 07:53 AM
yes you have certainly gone over the top. fantastic. i love the composition of the bullocks faces and the detail of their character and interaction, my favorite is the guy on the left keeping out of trouble. Only thing i can see that might help is the tree on the left doesnt feel quite grounded and could use some dark tone there perhaps. but yeah what a painting.

Corby
06-14-2010, 10:25 AM
This is oh so familiar... you might as well be painting the Herefords on the ranch where I grew up in Eastern Oregon state. ( John Day Valley) That could well be my dad on the front horse, my mom on the back horse. I am a sucker for orange tones and backlit situations. This is marvelous!....Do you like it without the dog?

valentine girl
06-14-2010, 11:01 AM
this painting makes me think there is fire spreading. it displays urgency and fear! i love it. it reminds me of my favorite book, the Thornbirds.great!********sandy

La_