PDA

View Full Version : Altered Book by Nancy

Nancys
06-13-2010, 01:38 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Jun-2010/40472-Journal_Portrait_croppedsmall.jpg

I completed these two pages in my altered book today, about 8 x 11. I gessoed the pages, used fluid and tube acrylics, graphite, china pencil, waterproof pen, scraffito, and a small collage on newsprint from a stamp I made. I will use these as examples in an art journaling workshop I will teach the last of July. I am new to altered books and I like the freedom. I'm experimenting with using a glue stick, Mod Podge, and acrylic medium to glue several pages together. I think I'm leaning toward the speed and ease of the glue stick. Anyone else? This is a book on Women's Health and has lots of wombs and babies in it and I think it will be fun to use.

mhimeswc
06-13-2010, 08:32 AM
I've never paid much attention to altered books before, but I like the way you designed your pages, and the artwork is really good. I suppose you will be making a new cover for the book also? Do you have to worry about the facing pages sticking together when the book is closed? - I find acrylics do stick sometimes.

Studio-1-F
06-13-2010, 09:23 AM
I will use these as examples in an art journaling workshop I will teach the last of July. I am new to altered books and I like the freedom.
"Freedom"? Just out of curiosity, why do an "altered book", when you can start with the pristine pages of a fresh sketchbook? The example page you showed us doesn't make a lot use of the underlying book page. It seems to nearly obliterate it.

I dunno, I dunno . . . as a librarian I suffer philosophical heartache when I see someone destroying a book, no matter how un-loved or how rejected the book is. And no matter how noble or artistic the purpose of the destruction. Just hard-wired me, I guess. Sorry! :o