PDA

View Full Version : Materials Question?

ctanner
05-27-2010, 10:47 AM
I am new to this so please bear with me.

I would like to know what fixative works best for layering?
I have some Sennelier pastel fixative in a pump spray bottle.Also a workable all purpose fixative.

I have been told that Turpenoid may be used to create washes,etc.,what about Gamsol?

Anyone using wax like Gamblin's Cold Wax Medium?

What are you using for your final fix?

Thanks,I'm primarily a painter and these are uncharted waters for me.

mollerman
05-27-2010, 11:11 AM
Depending on the paper you are using and the amount of layering, fixative may not be necessary. This seems to be the case if using Wallis or UArt sanded paper. There are several threads on fixatives in the learning forum of soft pastels. I usually don't use a fixative between layering unless I am using colorfix paper which is not my choice. Some fixatives can darken the colors and some can even spit out spots that need to be worked over. I have had better results using Lascaux fixative. There is also a method of using a steam iron that sounded like a pretty good method and a lot cheaper and less risky. I have tried looking back and finding the post but still haven't found it. If anyone knows what I am talking about please let me know.
You can do a wash with pastel and water, turpenoid, watercolor, light oil stain. I'm not sure about wax?

allydoodle
05-27-2010, 11:12 AM
Welcome to te pastel forum!

There are no hard and fast rules to the fixitave issue. Some people always use fixative, others use it occassionally, and others not at all.