PDA

View Full Version : Pen and Watercolour

Dougwas
05-24-2010, 06:19 PM
I am just learning watercolour and thought it would be a neat idea to start a journal to record my journey into the world of "Pen and Watercolour." I have always enjoyed looking at ink drawings with a watercolour wash, so I figured I should learn how to do it.

The journal is fairly small at 5'' x 7'' but this makes it easier for me to handle while sitting in my recliner, or as I call it, my life saver. I think I will be using Micron 01 pens and Cotmat watercolour pans for the whole book, but that may change in the future.

Okay, First off here is the sketchbook I will be using. As you can see, it is 100% recycled paper and the 110lb weight allows a light wash. The paper buckles a bit, so I will be just using one side of each sheet.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2010/102199-Journal_Cover.jpg

Of course I decided to run before I learned how to walk. I always enjoy drawing/painting fruit so I thought that would be a good place to start. These were all done using the glazing technique and I dabbed the bottom two trying to create texture. The drawings are done from my own reference photos and were first done in pencil and then gone over with the black 01 pen. I am not that brave yet.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2010/102199-Journal_01.jpg

The next two pages are just an example of the seven basic texturing strokes. I guess these should have been the first two pages, but oh well.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2010/102199-Journal_02.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2010/102199-Journal_03.jpg

This page I wanted to use the seven strokes with a watercolour wash. On the right side I wanted to use the different strokes together. All the drawings on this page are from imagination.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2010/102199-Journal_04.jpg

Thanks for looking.

Doug

jacquip
05-24-2010, 06:37 PM