PDA

View Full Version : Accoutant by day, artist by night?

caymankelly
05-24-2010, 11:28 AM
Hello all,

I recently started drawing cartoons for my daughter for fun and it turns out that I am really enjoying it. I work as an accountant and have always believed that I have zero artistic ability. I do not have any experience or training with respect to drawing. I really just started for the first time about a month ago. However, my wife has been very encouraging and has motivated me to continue to explore this new avenue.

I have attached some of the portraits that I have sketched over the past couple of weeks.

I am looking forward to some independant c&c.

Have a great day

JK

Davkin
05-24-2010, 12:00 PM
I'd say you definately have natural ability. With practice you'll definately go far with art.

David

eyepaint
05-24-2010, 12:35 PM
Good job! You would not want to see the portraits I drew after one month of beginner drawing practice :)

DrDebby
05-24-2010, 01:31 PM
Wow, only a month!? Keep going. These are very good likenesses. The only C&C I would offer depends on what you were after. If you after cartoons, then keep going. If you are after more realistic portraiture, then I would offer that you try to create the "lines" of your drawing with shading, rather than lines.

caymankelly
05-24-2010, 01:41 PM
Wow, only a month!? Keep going. These are very good likenesses. The only C&C I would offer depends on what you were after. If you after cartoons, then keep going. If you are after more realistic portraiture, then I would offer that you try to create the "lines" of your drawing with shading, rather than lines.

Thanks for the advice. Much appreciated!

Joan T
05-24-2010, 02:08 PM
Very good likenesses! Keep the journal going.

Vivien Maloney
05-24-2010, 04:24 PM
Your portraits are very good, and after only a month of drawing, wow! Just keep going. You are doing great.

prismalos
05-24-2010, 06:50 PM