PDA

View Full Version : Question on using Interactives for Plein Air

ItsaWonder
05-16-2010, 03:24 PM
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone here uses Interactives for plein air painting? I've been thru a number of mediums, never quite comfortable with them. Had a terrible go for a summer a couple years ago using a different brand of acrylics and decided not to use acrylics for plein air anymore. However, I just recently used that little sample set of Interactives in the studio, and now think this paint might be what I've been dreaming of! (I am mostly self-taught, so it's been lots of experimentation with lots of mediums). My frustraton with the other acrylics was that my mixtures would dry before I could use them on my panel.....I do like them to layer, so am hoping I can figure out how to use the Interactives with layering...

When I used the regular acrylics outside, I had learned here on WC that I needed to keep the brushes wet until I could get them back to the studio for clean-up. I am wondering if that is the case with the Interactives, too. Do I need to keep the brushes wrapped up with something wet till I can clean them, or will they re-open for cleaning, just like they will for painting? If I don't need to keep the brushes wrapped/wet, then how long do you think I have after painting to get them in water for cleaning?

Also, would just love if anyone is using them for plein air to have more conversation/tips.....please forgive me if this subject has been covered here. I have a dial-up connection and did do a search and read as much as I could, but dial-up takes sooooooo long!

Thanks for your help....Meredith

claydesigner2156
05-16-2010, 03:54 PM
Hi Meredith,