PDA

View Full Version : DK's Sketchbook #2 - Pen & WC

Davkin
05-08-2010, 11:26 PM
I just started this sketchbook today. Finally got around to using the Koi watercolor sketching kit I bought last fall. I've never done watercolor before, (or hardly any painting for that matter) so this was a bit of an adventure. I had a lot of fun so I intend to continue filling this book with similar sketches. The sketchbook is an 8" X 5" moleskine type.

C & C's Welcome!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-May-2010/201970-sketchbook-02001.jpg

Today my sketching ground was Murray Park. This was sketched on the creek that runs through the park near the East end. The water really was green, but not quite that green. I started by sketching lightly with an HB mechanical pencil then I used a Prismacolor 005 black pen and a Faber "S" sepia brown Pitt pen. I then colored it using the Koi watercolor sketching kit.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-May-2010/201970-sketchbook-02002.jpg

This sketch was also at Murray Park today. This is in the wonderful arboretum there. The crabapple tree was blooming like nothing I've seen before. Unfortunately I'm not skilled enough to capture that beauty and color very well, but at least I tried.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-May-2010/201970-sketchbook-02003.jpg

I decided to try an architectural subject. I forgot to check what the building was, but it was a convenient subject being across the park from one of the few benches along the pathway.

I'm not really a journalist but I did write notes on the backs of the sketches when I got home about the circumstances of the sketches and my own comments about them.

David

JTMB
05-09-2010, 01:12 AM