PDA

View Full Version : Advice on painting surfaces

Elena in Exeter
05-08-2010, 10:54 AM
Hi, I am still learning the art of soft pastels and so far have only used Winsor and Newton pastel paper. It has enough grip but I use the least textured side as I work in photographic detail and don't like the bumps on textured papers. I am trying a meduim that you paint on to give a sanded paper effect but don't like the brush marks! Please tell me what your favourite surface is and why you like to use it. All advice gratefully received!

BetsyPriesing
05-08-2010, 11:54 AM
Hi Elena welcome to the Pastel Forum.

As for your question I have not used the papers you mention, yes you can used either side of the papers, most people use the smooth sides. If you are having trouble with brush strokes showing up try using those gray foam brushes that you can find at your local hardware store. You can get quite a big package of them for a small amount of money, usually.

If you are using colorfix primer which I use, wet the foam brush with water and squeeze it out, then coat the paper with the primer.

The paper most people talk about is Wallis, which can come mounted on a rigid support. Alot of the teachers and pro's suggest beginners use that, as well as those who are more expirenced, as it can easily be washed off in the sink, dried and used again many times.

I use a smooth watercolor paper as I have a ream of it, and coat it with colorfix primer. I also when going outside prime with colorfix archival matboard. the matboard primed with pastel primer makes it easier to pack along, no need to deal with mounting it to another support to paint on.