PDA

View Full Version : Hi

huni
04-22-2010, 03:47 AM
Introduced myself already and got directions to say hi here - so hi everyone:wave: I started pastels in Nov 09 and in looking for extra help found this forum. Lurked a lot then joined - lurked some more then got some courage to say hello. Thats a lot for me. :eek: I love the work here and the people seem grand. Guessing I have made about 8 - 10 pictures so far and would like an honest opinion of my progress. I am self taught and have loved to draw since a child but this colour stuff had me tossed for a while. Books and here have helped me step up a lot in my last few paintings. BUT a long way to go I suspect. All I know for sure is, the more I do , the more I know where I'm going wrong. That nearly stopped me, has that happened to anyone else? warm regards huni

*Deirdre*
04-22-2010, 06:13 AM
Hi Huni....Welcome to the Pastel Forum! Have a good look around...you'll find lots to interest you! Then go to the studio section when you're ready to post your work...don't forget to add C&C please if you'd like some input...we're always willing to help.

Colorix
04-22-2010, 06:23 AM
Hi Huni, just jump in, the water's warm, and the company great! Oh, many of us started like you, learning from books and then learning here. The more you learn, the more you see where you go wrong? Very familiar feeling, that one... It is good, as you're learning in the smart way. What we see and know is often several levels ahead of what we can actually paint. (And it will continue that way... :-) One of the things that helped me most was to post my paintings for critique (= helpful advice), in the Pastel Studio/Gallery forum. Quite a step, I know. You can ask people to go gently with their critique -- and this crowd usually are very gentle anyway.

Have fun,

Charlie

granddad
04-22-2010, 09:40 AM
Welcome to the forum, looking forward to seeing your work. james

Deborah Secor
04-22-2010, 11:45 AM