PDA

View Full Version : Brush Life?

lstrvr
04-20-2010, 01:05 AM
I have been using oils since I started painting last Nov. and have just made the switch over to acrylic and am finding that my brush life seems to be short. I really don't know for sure as I am completely new and have had no classes etc., but how long should a brush last? For instance, I seem to get no more than 2 paintings from a no.2 filbert if attempting a small 11x14 wildlife painting. Typically the brushes start to curl outwards at the tips. I clean the brushes after every use with brush cleaner and reshape.

I appreciate that there are huge variables depending upon brush make and technique etc., but was just wondering if there is anything general I should be doing different? I apologize if this is a question that has been answered in depth before, but I failed in my attempts to find anything through the search function :o.

I should add that although this is my first post, I have been lurking since Nov. and appreciate the excellent information and inspiration that I have received from this forum! Truly an excellent resource for newbies like myself!:)

idylbrush
04-20-2010, 06:38 AM
Could you share what kind of bristle is being used. Some of the organic ones are harder to keep. Many use synthetic bristles and they seem to last the best. In particular talkon in either red or white seems to work well. I have brushes that are now over 20 years old and still doing fine. Others are only good for a year or so. Acrylics are notorious for being a bit rougher on brushes but what you are experiencing seems a bit excessive if you can only get two paintings out of a brush.

You might consider trying different brands until you find what works best for you.

Zoe Sotet
04-20-2010, 06:54 AM
Some of my brushes are the same ones I've been using for 15 years. And I'm Rough with my brushes.
Unlike with oils with acrylic paint you have to rinse while you're painting otherwise the paint starts to dry in the brush.