PDA

View Full Version : Color Palette Question on Van Gogh H2Oils

ItsaWonder
04-17-2010, 06:46 PM
This is my first post on WC, although I have been reading here for years. I am just starting to play with WSO's, the Holbeins, but am interested in trying the Van Goghs, too. I am finding the Holbeins not easily spreadable, so I think I am adding too much water to them. I imagine the issue is more me than the paints, as I am really trying to teach myself art in general and the oil painting in particular. I have never tried regular oils before, so I have no comparison basis there. I have used colored pencils, pastels, and acrylics. In using acrylics, I learned to use the following as my color palette for primary mixing colors: cadmium red medium, cadmium yellow light, cadmium yellow dark, quinacridone magenta, cerulean blue and ultramarine blue. I do not see all these pigments offered among the Van Gogh H2Oils, so was wondering what those of you who use them choose for your primaries.

By the way, I was thrilled to find this subforum! Thanks for the information I have already received here, and any help you can provide with this question.

Meredith

DAK723
04-18-2010, 10:48 AM
Based on the price and user comments over the years, the Holbeins are a higher grade paint, whereas the van Goghs are student grade. Now this may not matter to you, especially as you have just started experimenting. However, as you mentioned, the VGs don't have the cadmiums and have many hues replacing the pricier pigments such as real cerulean, for example, and this can be a real negative.

The Blick website gives pigment information for each tube, so that may help you choose the colors you want. The cerulean, for example is a combination Pthalo blue and White. Their Ultramarine isn't even real ultramarine - it is Phthalo Blue and Dioxazine Violet! Click on the Item No. for the pigment info.