PDA

View Full Version : Painter Sketches

OhThatGirl2001
09-20-2002, 11:15 AM
Hi all, I'm new to the forum. However, my good buddy Greg (aka The Fugitive) has been encouraging me to join for a while.

I'm just beginning to learn Painter and fooling around with the tracing paper aspect of the program. It does an OK job but I'm not sure I like how harsh the edges turn out. I keep hoping my tablet would give me a bit more of a sketchy look and some better control. Edges are really tough. If it's just a matter of practice... then I will keep at it. However, if you have any suggestions about how to get better control with the pencil tool - I'd love to hear.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/20-Sep-2002/Digital_Sketch.JPG

Thanks so much for your time.

Lisa

TeAnne
09-20-2002, 11:50 AM
Hi Lisa, Welcome to WC, :)
I like what your doing with this. Everything takes practice, so don't be too disheartened. A good start. Are you going to colour it and what not? If you are, I'm eager to see :)

madster
09-20-2002, 11:51 AM
If you are using a tablet with pressure sensitivity (which I assume you are) go under Expression, and adjust your size, opacity, and/or color to Pressure. That should help.
What version Painter are you using?

Madster

OhThatGirl2001
09-20-2002, 11:54 AM
Thanks. I do plan to color it.

I'm sorry if this is a lame question... but where would I find the Expression Option? Would it be under Wacom or in Painter?

Lisa

crazy_cat
09-20-2002, 11:55 AM
Welcome Lisa!!! I am not sure about Painter but with Photoshop I turn off all the stylus settings with my pencil, brush, airbrush and smudge. That way the tablet settings take over, not pshop setting for the brushes. I can control the tilt and flow 200% this way. If you have the stylus turned on in pshop the program, even though you are using the tablet, determines the spacing, etc. Again, welcome and very nice work!:clap: :clap: :cat:

javismiles
09-20-2002, 12:04 PM
oh, so u are that girl2001! :)