PDA

View Full Version : Jackie Simmonds Pastel Video

maverick
09-19-2002, 11:50 AM
I just received the video I purchased from Jackie through eBay. "Pastel Workout--First Steps with Pastel". At first I thought, I'm not really a beginner anymore so I'm not sure if I'll learn very much. Oh boy, when my ego appears even for a second, I know I'm in trouble! It was so nice to "meet" Jackie, and to watch her work. She starts off teaching the basic techniques for applying pastels. The broken color technique was something I've seen her comment on, but now I really know what she was getting at. She takes you through some practice exercises, then on to a few finished paintings--an imaginary landscape and a still life, and a still life from a set up. I was intrigued by what she can create from her imagination. I was also impressed by how fast she can work using these techniques.

I'm not a shill for Jackie, so please excuse my enthusiasm. I'm looking forward to applying some of Jackie's expertise into my own paintings, and just thought I'd share my excitement with you. I'd recommend this video to any beginner in pastels. It's so much better than looking at pictures in a book.

Alisa
09-19-2002, 12:46 PM
I ordered that same video. I have a couple books but really wanted to SEE an artist at work. Thanks for posting your thoughts on it, can't wait to get it!

Alisa

Elinor
09-19-2002, 03:42 PM
How do you go about ordering this video?

Or Maverick maybe I can just borrow yours? Your only the next town over.

Just kidding. :D

maverick
09-19-2002, 05:33 PM
She was selling them on eBay. There's only one on there right now, but it's not the one I have.
Pastel Workout--Capturing light and colour (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=906170866)

Maybe she'll have more available once she gets back from her show. If I was thinking more clearly at the time, I would have purchased all the videos at once.

Borrow? Maybe when I'm done, I'll donate it to the library :D