PDA

View Full Version : Shadows and Strong Light

overcast
03-22-2010, 05:16 PM
If anyone could give me advice or direct me to a good thread/website that gives an in depth analysis of color choice in shadows, it would be greatly appreciated! I searched for a while and havent seen very many helpful websites. For example..Im interested in the intensity of colors in shadows, the use of black in shadows, what colors to use (for example, if you have a red object and a yellow light to the left of it, what color will the shadow be?), how to paint shadows edges etc..
Ive always thought of it as the opposite of strong light..for strong light I always thought you just included more white a bit of the light color..no?

Im pretty new to painting so any advice is welcome!

Einion
03-23-2010, 05:32 PM
Hi, thanks for your question. There are many prior threads here in Colour Theory with discussion on colour in shadows, in addition to searching the main part of the forum (be sure to look for both the English and American spellings of colour as well as the word shadow/shadows) the Hall Of Fame (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=372) has one or two threads that you'll find helpful.

For example..Im interested in the intensity of colors in shadows, the use of black in shadows, what colors to use (for example, if you have a red object and a yellow light to the left of it, what color will the shadow be?), how to paint shadows edges etc..
This part of your query covers a lot of ground - both the visual aspect of what's seen as well as the means to achieve those colours in paint. Which nearly amounts to 'how do you paint?' query! :)