PDA

View Full Version : Aztek Airbrush

cuttlefish
03-21-2001, 06:16 PM
This referrs to a digression in the Spray Varnishing topic.

I found the home page for these buggers. It looks like Testors bought out the Aztek company some time ago. There is a link to airbrush productus on www.testors.com. (http://www.testors.com.) They seem to be pushing a special model for painting fingernails , which they gave a separate site at azteknails.testors.com. The link to "Aztek" on that page does not work.

Has anyone had a chance to try these? They seem to have the only significantly differently engineered airbrushes on the market, others having designs dating back to the 1930s. A friend of mine wants to start airbrushing but has a limited budget. I hesitate to recommend an Aztek until I can find out more about it, but they do hold a price advantage.

Keith Russell
03-21-2001, 10:59 PM
Greetings:

I've been painting almost exclusively in airbrush since 1982, and I have been teaching basic and advanced airbrush at the college level, since 1993.

Many of my airbrush students have brought Aztek airbrushes to class.

Unfortunately, they are often more trouble than they're worth.

The main problem is the needle housing. It is self-contained, and opening it voids the warranty on the airbrush. The needle rides on a spring, like the refill in a ball point pen. In the Aztec airbrush, though, the spring often gets compressed, rendering the needle assembly useless.

I have also found that the needle assembly has a tendency to be too springy; one moment you might be spraying along, the spray will stop. (Or, worse yet, you'll be trying to spray a crucial detail using a tight spray pattern, and the needle will suddenly spring back, and a flood of paint will be released.)

I recommend the Badger 150 airbrush, or the Paache 'VL', both of which can be purchased for less than a hundred dollars, and yet offer more control, and reliability, than I have seen from the Azteks.

Hope this helps,